NEPSAC Champs!

 In Brewster News, Featured

The Brewster’s Boys’ Prep Basketball team won the NEPSAC Class AAA finals with a 89-63 win over Northfield Mount Hermon at Rhode Island College on Sunday. Photos.

The win capped an undefeated season for the Bobcats with a 30-0 record.

Tournament MVP Makai Ashton-Langford (Worcester, Mass.) led a balanced Brewster attack with 19 points and 5 assists. Junior forward Sidney Wilson Jr. (Bronx, N.Y.) had a team-high 21 points and 9 rebounds, which included several highlight-reel worthy dunks. Senior guards Thomas Allen (Raleigh, N.C.) and Michael Okauru (Raleigh, N.C.) had 18 and 15 points, respectively. Brewster has won six NEPSAC Championships since 2008 and four out of the last five.

The day before, the prep team advanced to the championship game with a 75-66 win over Lakes Region League rival, New Hampton School. Ashton-Langford led the Bobcats with 22 points, while Allen added 13 points. Senior forward Aaron Wheeler (Stamford, Conn.) contributed 12 points in the victory.

Coach Jason Smith, who has led the Bobcats for the past 17 seasons, was named NEPSAC AAA Coach of the Year, and Thomas Allen was named NEPSAC AAA Player of the Year.

Other accolades include NEPSAC AAA First Team Selections Sidney Wilson Jr. and Makai Ashton-Langford; NEPSAC AAA Second Team Selections Curtis Haywood; and NEPSAC AAA Honorable Mentions Mike Okauru and Aaron Wheeler.

On Wednesday of this week, the prep team will begin their quest to win the national prep championship, a title the team has held four times since 2010. They are scheduled to play at 2:45 p.m. at Albertus Magnus College in New Haven, Connecticut.

Leave a Comment